The Tech HutDaily
← All editions

The Daily Savannah

Saturday, 12 September 2026 Edition Nº 17

A quiet Saturday, and the most interesting number is a supply-chain one: the folding screen inside Apple's new iPhone Duo costs more than an entire mid-range phone, and Samsung is the only company that can make it.

Featured · Gadgets

One screen, $250: the part that explains the iPhone Duo's price

Samsung Display is charging Apple roughly $250 for each inner folding panel in the iPhone Duo, according to Weibo supply-chain leaks — more than three times the ~$70 a conventional iPhone screen costs, and about an eighth of the $1,999 sticker. The ten-layer M16 OLED stack buys a nano-texture coating, better brightness and efficiency and a barely visible crease, and it is now the most expensive component Apple has ever put inside an iPhone. The leverage is the real story: Apple is locked into a three-year exclusive with Samsung Display, LG has not cracked mass production and BOE's panels reportedly miss Apple's bar — which is why a Nairobi buyer will not see this phone get cheap quickly.

Source: Techweez

A close look at a phone's glass display — the folding panel alone accounts for an eighth of the iPhone Duo's price
INFRASTRUCTURE

A Nigerian cloud provider opens its first Nairobi zone

Nobus Cloud Services, run out of Lagos by Nkponani Limited, has switched on Nobus-EA-AZ1, its first East African availability zone, and paired it with a Catalyst Programme offering free credits and technical support to African startups and enterprises. The pitch against the hyperscalers is shilling pricing, in-country storage and lower latency — which lands squarely on the Data Protection Act's limits on shipping personal data abroad and regulators' data-residency demands. It arrives into a crowded month: Digital Realty's 6.4MW NBO2, Oracle preparing a cloud region, and Airtel Kenya building toward July 2027. A zone that is live is not yet a zone that is loaded.

CIO Africa

INFRASTRUCTURE

Digital Parks Africa adds a Tier IV carrier-neutral build in Lagos

NDC1 is Digital Parks Africa's West African expansion, targeting Uptime Institute Tier IV certification and pitched at cloud, fintech and data-heavy workloads in Nigeria. The company, led by founder and CEO Menno Parsons, has operated in the country for more than two decades. Size in megawatts, investment and a construction timeline have not been published — the same gap that makes several of this month's African data-centre announcements hard to rank against each other.

TechTrends KE

STARTUPS

Siemens puts its industrial software into six African markets through Redington

Kenya, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Morocco, Egypt and Tanzania get distribution and local support for Teamcenter, Designcenter and Simcenter — product lifecycle management, design and simulation — plus Siemens' digital twin and industrial AI tooling, with more markets promised. Redington handles the regional channel. The target is manufacturers and engineering firms that have mostly been priced or supported out of this class of software; pricing and access terms were not disclosed, which is the detail Kenyan manufacturers will want before anyone celebrates.

TechTrends KE

STARTUPS

ODIGO brings field-team tracking to African distributors

Built by TalentBridge Technologies and brought into Africa by ASK Tech Ventures after deployments across South and Southeast Asia, ODIGO CMS folds planning, workforce management, field activity tracking, evidence capture and reporting into one system. The pitch is aimed at anyone running sales reps, promoters, merchandisers or field agents across scattered locations — retail execution, brand activations, merchandising, audits. "As businesses scale, the distance between the person making decisions and the person executing them becomes a real management challenge," says ASK Tech CEO Vikas Mehta. Pricing was not disclosed.

TechTrends KE

AI

Gemini gets a Windows desktop app, five months after the Mac one

Google's desktop Gemini is now a free download for Windows 10 and 11 on x64 and ARM64, with an Alt+Space overlay, a sidebar carrying Notebooks and chat history, Gmail and Drive integration, image generation via Nano Banana, video via Omni, and server-side task automation through Spark. The paid tiers run KES 900 and KES 3,700 a month in Kenya. Spark is unavailable in the EEA, Switzerland, the UK — and Nigeria, a reminder that the regional carve-outs on these tools are not always the ones you would predict. The macOS version shipped in April.

tech-ish

$250Samsung's price to Apple per folding screen
3 yearsApple's exclusive lock-in with Samsung Display
6African markets getting Siemens industrial software
KES 900monthly entry price for paid Gemini in Kenya
← All editions